Ich Bin Ein Londoner

For the people who care, the title of this post has two significances–I shall address the most obviously one one first. I’ve been living in London for two weeks now and am starting to feel settled and like I’m sort of getting to know the city. In no way would I claim to know all there is about it, or that I’ve gone native. But I wasn’t sure that I was going to like it here, and I DO. Unabashedly so. Since getting here I’ve seen Rory Williams and Neville Longbottom (performing in the hilarious and heartbreaking play Our Boys), I was transported back to Kenyon (via Liberal Arts and lovely outings with fellow Kenyonite, Ariel), and, perhaps most importantly, am feeling comfortable on the tube. I know how to navigate the underground like nobody’s business. I’ve also been asked directions several times, on the street, in the underground, and twice in cabs (at which point I wanted to ask, “Isn’t it your job to know where you’re going??”), which always makes me feel native. To know directions, you must look like you belong there. And are a nice person. It’s nice to know that I look both like I could live here and that I’m not a crazy murdering psychopath who kills people who ask me directions. I think that’s a good image. Also, I’ve gotten my room in order! Where it really feels like my room. And this is the main point of the post, since many people have asked for pictures of my room. I’ve taken these at night, so sadly I’ll have to put my gorgeous view up later (think broad avenue and leafy trees), but for now, these will have to do.

                     

That’s a tube map but of Greater Shakespeare instead of Greater London. It’s fantastic. Not particularly useful geographically, but really fun if you know Shakespeare’s plays at all. Funny intersections and crossings. I love it.

Well, I’ll post sunnier pictures with views later. For now, the second reason for this post. The German title is no mistake–I’m going there! On Friday! My little sister is studying in Berlin this semester (Get it? Ich bin ein Berliner? Which actually means “I am a jelly donut,” so Kennedy got that one a bit wrong.) and my parents are visiting her. And they wanted me to come, too! Conveniently, it also falls almost exactly on her 21st birthday, and it will be the closest I’ve been to seeing her on her birthday in the past six years. Yay for Europe!

I guess there’s a third reason for this post…I got an internship! I’m going to be a literary intern for Ed Victor Ltd starting next Tuesday. I’ll be assisting the teen/children’s literary agent there, and probably doing some other general assistant stuff as well. I’m even getting paid a bit! It’s kind of a dream position, and I’m beyond excited to get started. It’s located super close to the British museum, so I might pop there after work sometimes. Wow. I love London!

One thought on “Ich Bin Ein Londoner

Leave a Reply

