Monocle Sporting Narwhal for Downton

It’s pretty well known that I’m obsessed with narwhals. Like, super obsessed. Shah. And why not? They’re amazing creatures. They’re the closest thing we have to unicorns. And they live in the sea. Sea unicorns are the best thing ever.

At least, that’s what I used to think.

UNTIL NOW.

 

It’s a narwhal plush with a MONOCLE. It’s a narwhal of leisure, a gentleman narwhal, with a well-maintained mustache, and a sparkly horn for all those dressy occasions. Or perhaps just when the Dowager Countess of Grantham is visiting for luncheon.

Which is happening this Sunday!

That’s right everybody. If you didn’t know it already, you know it now–Downton Abbey is making a triumphant return to ITV this Sunday. That means it’s a Doctor Who Saturday AND a Downton Abbey Sunday. The next few weekends will now be known as Geek Weekends of Glory, or Geekends for short. I am so so glad I’m living in the UK. For other reasons besides television, but it’s pretty exciting getting to see these shows before they air in the States. Sorry, America. Your politics and your time zones have made you less-than-appealing to me right now. Think I’ll hang out here for a while.

And for those of you out there who are worried about what to get me for Christmas, my birthday (or Katy Day Day, as I call it) or Narwhal Appreciation Day (there has to be one of those, right?), look no further! The same vendor on Etsy who sells these magnificent plush narwhals has a NARWHAL OF THE MONTH CLUB. Each month you get a new narwhal in the mail! There are small narwhals, big narwhals, different colored ones, some with mustaches and some with top hats. Heaven.

My hope is that before this new season of Downton ends, I will procure a fancy narwhal so we can dress up and watch episodes together in a way that Maggie Smith would approve.

6 thoughts on “Monocle Sporting Narwhal for Downton

  1. You are too funny. But never forget, it was I, your Mum, who gave you your first Narwhal. It was your 23rd Katy Day Day. Love always….

  2. You have no idea how excited I am by the knowledge that Downton Abbey is on on Sunday. Also, you forgot about Strictly Come Dancing, which I’m told begins this Saturday. I’m not a fan but will end up watching it because I know someone who is!

    1. I CANNOT WAIT FOR TONIGHT! I didn’t know about Strictly, but we might’ve watched X Factor after Doctor Who finished. That’s kind of the same, right?

Leave a Reply

