I’m So Crunchy

A few years ago I went to get my haircut. Now, something I do before haircuts is not shower. Or if I do shower, I won’t wash my hair. They’re just going to wash it at the salon with better shampoo than I have anyway. What’s the point? So when I was off to shed my locks, I wore a bright blue knitted cap with a big bobble on top. The first thing Amy, the woman cutting my hair, said to me was, “Ah, did you make that yourself?” I had, and while I originally thought that meant she didn’t think it was very good, she actually loved it. “You’re so crunchy!” she told me.

Crunchy has followed me around as a title for many years. I can’t count how many times I’ve been called a hippie. I like to knit, I’ve been known to wear Birkenstocks and I’ve gone to a fair share of music festivals. But today I truly achieved crunchiness.

Today, I made my own granola.

Not only that, but it’s healthy granola. And looks beautiful.

Homemade granola in an airtight jar
Homemade granola in an airtight jar

Right? Isn’t that gorgeous looking granola? I put it in some fat free vanilla yogurt today and it was amazing. I think what makes it different from other granolas I’ve eaten is the orange zest I grated into it. Plus it’s not full of sugars like other granolas. Plus I get to brag about making my own granola (which isn’t actually very hard, but I feel super cool when I say it).

And this has brought me to the epitome of crunchy. For those of you who have been confused by the term crunchy thus far, it refers to crunchy granola. As in people who knit their own hats and go to music festivals are so crunchy granola. So earthy. So hippie. Aka, me.

If anybody wants this super delicious recipe, just let me know. It’s from the Weight Watchers New Complete Cookbook, so you know it’s healthy.

Some of you may be wondering why I felt the need to blog about this. To you I say: I have an essay due Friday.

5 thoughts on “I’m So Crunchy

  1. Hey it’s a lot better than my last blog post! (To save you from looking, the title was: ‘Weekly Update: Essay essay essay’ and the main body: ‘That’s pretty much it.’)

  2. The Recipe:
    Makes 12 servings–1 serving is 1/3 cup
    Each serving is 5 ProPoints

    Ingredients:

    3 cups old fashioned oats
    1/3 cup chopped walnuts (or substitute almonds, like I did)
    1/3 cup raw pumpkin seeds
    1/4 cup raw wheat germ
    1/4 cup flaked sweetened coconut
    1 tablespoon canola (rapeseed for Brits) oil
    1/4 teaspoon salt
    Grated zest of 1 orange
    1/2 cup raisins

    1. Preheat over to 300F. Spray 10.5 x 15.5 jelly-roll pan with nonstick spray.
    2. Stir together all ingredients except raisins. Spoon misture into prepared baking pan and spread evenly.
    3. Bake, stirring once, until golden brown, about 25 minutes (though it took much longer for me). Stir in raisins and let cool completely. Can be stored in airtight container up to 1 month.

Leave a Reply

