Challenges of Purpose

My goodness it’s been a while since I’ve posted. What with STILL being on winter break I’ve had a cornucopia (yep, a cornucopia) of time on my hands. It’s been lots and varied, my time has. Except by varied I mostly mean of the relaxing variety. Lots of reading, lots of snuggling with animals and recently lots of time at the beach. I’m pleased to say that when I return to St Andrews it will not be as a pale marshmallow of disgrace. I don’t know why marshmallows are disgraceful in this context, but just go with it.

I’ve also spent a lot of time wanting. This wanting has taken many forms, such as wanting brown boots (which I got) and wanting to exercise more (which was happening quite well until people came to visit). But most of all I want PURPOSE. To DO something. I think this is the result of being too long on break where I’m half-productive, half-ridiculously-lazy-beyond-belief. And the laziness has been good and rejuvenating but now I’m at the point where I want to leap into decisiveness and activity.

I wrote recently about goals, not resolutions, and I think I have some to add. My friend Will has challenged himself to read a book every week this year. Being on a creative writing course I’m expected to be reading at least one book a week, if not more (Gormenghast Trilogy, I’m looking at you). So maybe I’ll challenge myself in a different way, a way that would actually help my coursework and myself. I’ll write a certain amount every week this year. Kind of like NaNoWriMo, but on a longer basis and little less intense.

I know what you’re thinking. But Katy, as a creative writing student, shouldn’t you be writing all the time anyway? The answer to that is of course yes, but I find that one of the hardest things about writing is actually sitting down to WRITE. Getting the words down and out and on the page can seem insurmountable at times. My question is what my word goal should be. Would 10,000 words a week be too much? That’s be almost at NaNo levels. Maybe 7,000? 1,000 words a day? Feel free to comment, though eventually it’ll be me deciding.

And again, to note–this is NOT a resolution. Just a challenge. A healthy challenge that I think should help my mind feel more active. And purposeful. And such. And whatnot.

Leave a Reply

