Procrastination/Distraction of the Day: Narwhals

For a long time I thought that these magical looking creatures were in fact just that–magical. Much like the fabled haggis, I didn’t think that an animal this fantastic could exist. What creature, you ask? Why THE NARWHAL, I say!

narwhal
Awesome red plush narwhal available on Etsy

It’s got a horn? Where? Are you trying to tell me it’s the unicorn of the sea? (A much more apt description than calling manatees mermaids, by the by.) And it’s real? When you take a look at them, it’s no wonder it took me so long to believe. And now I can’t stop looking at recreations of them on etsy. I want one so bad. (Especially the plush ones. Cause they’re adorable.)

In all seriousness, the first time I heard about these creatures I didn’t think they were real. I thought someone was trying to pull something over on me. It wasn’t until I went to the British Natural History Museum and I saw a skeleton of one did I truly begin to believe.

Narwhal Skeleton
Narwhal Skeleton

How crazy is that? Their horn is apparently a tooth that bores through their foreheads. Scientists don’t really know what the horn is for. It can’t be for fighting (though sometimes they do have mini nose-tooth-sword fights, which are AWESOME) and they don’t think it has anything to do with mating. Maybe they’re really sensitive like shark noses? They can feel magnetization and electricity and stuff. Or something like that.

But basically I’m just procrastinating by researching one of my favorite animals ever. They make me happy. One of my goals in life is to see one in person. I just have to travel to the arctic at some point. That would also be a great time to see the Northern Lights. Hey parents–graduation trip?? Hmm?

Here’s a great link to a video about narwhals from BBC’s Frozen Planet. A great place to start your own procrastinating narwhal research. Also, I think it’s clear that someone should sign me up for the next documentary BBC wants to do wherever there would be narwhals.

BBC’s Narwhals

3 thoughts on “Procrastination/Distraction of the Day: Narwhals

  1. Yes. I was wondering what to watch over my lunch break and this is educational and therefore productive. You could go as far as calling it research. Now I can nourish my body and my soul at the same time. Win.

Leave a Reply

