Winner: NaNoWriMo Success

I did it! I actually did it! 50,000 words in 30 days. I didn’t really think I could do it. There were days when I definitely thought I wouldn’t make it. But I did!

And the best part? It’s not all worthless. No, it’s definitely not a novel (it’s maybe 2/3 of the story? maybe only half?) and not only do I have more of it to write, there’s so much of it to edit. But I finally got a big chunk of this story out of my head and it’s been rummaging around my brain for the past five years, so it’s feeling pretty good. Maybe some ice cream for celebrating is in order….

NaNo Winner
Really explains itself, doesn't it?

Now if only I didn’t have schoolwork to finish.

Maybe proper celebrating will happen this weekend, when a fair amount of my creative writing course is headed off on a writer’s retreat. We’ve rented a large house outside of Edinburgh where we will read, write, eat and drink. Maybe sleep. Maybe do some trust falls. You know, writerly stuff.

As happy as I am that it’s over, I’m going to miss NaNoWriMo. This month has been crazy, and while I’ve mostly kept my life together there have been a few nights when I haven’t gone out because I needed to write. But overall it’s been a really great experience, and I’ve learned a lot about myself, both as a writer and as a person.

Who knows? Maybe next November will tempt me again. We’ll see…

5 thoughts on “Winner: NaNoWriMo Success

  1. Sweetie, i had no doubts at all! I knew you would reach your Goal; I am very proud of you. Will I be allowed to read it over Christmas Break? I hope so. Congratulations and see you soon. XOXOXOXOXOXOXO

  2. Outstanding! Well done! It is always a great feeling to set a goal and attain that goal, especially when the goal is a bit of a stretch.

    A dish of ice cream is well earned.

    I love you,

    Papa

Leave a Reply

