Crazy Days: The Last 48 Hours of NaNoWriMo

Okay. It’s been a week since I’ve posted, and that’s purely because I’ve gone NaNo crazy. The lack of sleep, abuse of caffeine and huge word-count days have kicked in. The past two days I’ve written about 9,000 words and had several cups of coffee. I’ve talked about my story and my word count to almost everyone I’ve sat down with, and the overall synopsis is: GOOD JOB, KATY!

In the sense that they’re proud of me for being able to produce so many words in such a short amount of time.

It’s like I said before–NaNoWriMo might not have me producing the best novel ever, but it’s getting part of a first draft out of my system. I’m not over-thinking what I’m writing and it’s magnificent. I know I’ll be cutting and editing and adding for many months after November, but for the first time I’ve really immersed myself in my story. My novel, if you may. And I’m absolutely loving it.

One of my professors showed us this Pablo Picasso quotation last Thursday. “El enemigo principal de la creatividad es el buen gusto.”

OR

The main enemy of creativity is common sense.

This November hasn’t been logical. My writing process has been crazy. I’ve occasionally felt discouraged and told myself it’s a silly, arbitrary goal that really doesn’t mean anything in the end.

But damnit, YES IT DOES. I will get to 50,000 words by November 30th and I will be a NaNoWriMo winner.

And then I will sleep for days and days and days.

One thought on “Crazy Days: The Last 48 Hours of NaNoWriMo

  1. ‘Buen gusto’ also has connotations of good taste…another thing to discard as you add to your word count.

    I’m excited for you. I’m in your corner, rooting for your winning status. And here after that.

    Robin

Leave a Reply

