Flash Fiction: My First Friday Fictioneer

She had forgotten what it felt like to be cold. Really cold. The kind of cold that eats your bones and skins your nose. It made her want to take a bath in Mama’s hot chicken noodle soup and drink warm cider. The smell of cinnamon always made her feel toasty, like melted butter on the stove. She would lounge on a sweet-buttered roll floating in Mama’s soup, sipping cider from a mug.

She tripped over a loose root and fell in the snow. “Keep moving,” said the man behind her. The ropes around her wrists chafed.

Icy Road--Flash Fiction
Inspirational flash fiction image from Madison Woods

For more stories prompted by this image, visit Madison Woods and explore the rest of the Friday Fictioneers!

I’m taking a mini NaNo break and doing some flash fiction. Huzzah huzzah!

9 thoughts on “Flash Fiction: My First Friday Fictioneer

  1. Whoa! I did not expect that ending! I think I’d rather be bathing in my mama’s hot chicken soup too! (Hey! Pass me the noodle!)

    Now I want to know why she’s bound! Loved the twist at the end! Good job!

  2. I like her Alice-in-Wonderland sort of imagery to stay warm and was surprised to learn she was a slave or captive of some sort. Interesting. Thanks for joining us today! Glad you took a break from all that nano-insanity 😉

  3. Oh, lovely contrast with the ending!

    “It made her want to take a bath in Mama’s hot chicken noodle soup and drink hot cider. […] She would lounge on a sweet-buttered roll floating in Mama’s soup, sipping cider from a mug.”

    Love the imagery; so fanciful! (I would probably sink from nibbling on the roll the whole time, lol.)

    What an all-around great first flash story, Katy. 😀

  4. Thanks for all the kind words everybody! I had a lot of fun writing it. I’m really enjoying writing flash! I’m letting my silly imagery get out and I love it.

Leave a Reply

