Opening Just a Crack: Prepping for NaNoWriMo

It’s October 29th! Which means different things to different people. For me it has two significant points: it is the day I will be FULLY celebrating Halloween (get ready for some awesome pictures of me as the Golden Snitch from Harry Potter from later today) and it’s also the day I really start to prepare for NaNoWriMo. I’m kicking it off by downloading a writing program called Scrivener, which so far seems like a really useful tool. It lets you catalogue your writing, make electronic index cards for each chapter/scene, formats everything into a manuscript or scriptwriting etc. form, and has a plethora of great options. Even BETTER is the fact that they’ve got a special promotion for NaNoWriMo! While it usually has a 30-day free trial, if you sign up for NaNoWriMo, it’s free until December 7th! AND if you win NaNoWriMo, you get 50% off. Just more motivation for me to get my butt in gear.

Scrivener
A layout of Scrivener--super useful writing tool!

Some of the fancy NaNoWriMo settings are things like having a tracker to see how many words you’ve written, how many words you have to go to get to 50,000 and a super sweet obfuscated upload mode that lets you upload your manuscript to NaNoWriMo with the words all flipped about so nobody can read what you’ve written. I guess that’s good for two things–one, I don’t want anyone to steal my ideas and two, I don’t want anyone reading the unadulterated first draft of my novel. Embarrassing.

And like I said before, I’ll be posting word count updates on here, with potential snippets as well. In fact, I have a question I’d like to ask all of you. Click on the poll below and answer, please! If you want to comment and say why you prefer one over the other, that’d also be helpful. (In honor of Halloween, I’ve made the color scheme orange and black.)

Well, I’m off to do some writing. And to get excited about drinking pumpkin beer later tonight.

Who am I kidding? I’m always excited about drinking pumpkin beer.

Happy psuedo-Halloween!

6 thoughts on “Opening Just a Crack: Prepping for NaNoWriMo

  1. First sentence provides some super curiosity. Oo, scrivener looks pretty cook, but I’m an outline-pantser so it would probably go unappreciated. I’m SO EXCITED!

  2. Scrivener is equally good for a pantser…I’m one. At least until my rough draft is written, then it becomes my working outline. Then, I move stuff around …which Scrivener helps me do.

    My first Nano, will look for you, Robin

Leave a Reply

