NaNoWriMo: Pushing the Door Open

I have decided to participate in NaNoWriMo this year. I have also decided to cheat.

National Novel Writing Month
NaNoWriMo

For those of you not familiar with NaNoWriMo, it is National Novel Writing Month. While I feel like this title is vaguely unfair–what about those of us not currently in the nation of the national it’s talking about?–I’m fully behind the premise. During the month of November, starting at midnight on the 1st and ending at 11:59:59 on the 30, you are to write a novel. Start to finish, beginning to end, protozoa to big wooly mammoth. For the folks at NaNoWriMo, this equals 50,000 words. Over thirty days, that’s roughly 1,667 words a day. Let me clarify–1,667 different words for every day that add onto the words you already wrote yesterday.

Daunting? A tiny bit. Thus the cheating.

See, I’m a student. And during the month of November we have what’s called Reading Week from the 5-12. Perfect! you say. Not so. While some will take this time to, I don’t know, actually read, I will be traveling to Selkirk and Edinburgh. Selkirk is a charming town in the Scottish Borders, full of traditions, thick accents and my boyfriend’s family. November 6 also happens to be his birthday. Edinburgh is a great city with fun things such as a confectioner’s shop, a national museum and a zoo where they LET YOU TOUCH LEMURS.

As you can see, I’ve got some really important things to do in November. Mostly the lemur thing. Well, entirely the lemur thing. So I’m going to fudge my NaNoWriMo just a tiny bit. Only in the sense that on certain days I will need to get above the 1,667 mark, since on other days I don’t think I’ll be able to write at all. I’m going to try and get to 20,000 words by the first week. This roughly breaks into 2,858 words per day. I’ve written about 300 words for this post in the past five or so minutes, I think I’m up for it.

WHO AM I KIDDING?!

The beginning of November is also when my first graded essay in over a year is due. More fudging to ensue here. Or I suppose it’s just good time management. I’m going to try and pop a first draft of that bad boy out this weekend. Seeing as this weekend right now includes Golden Snitch costume making, traveling to Edinburgh for a Bon Iver concert, a Skype date with one of my best friends from back home, reading all of Guy de Maupassant’s A Parisian Affair and Other Stories and an anniversary dinner, I should be able to accomplish this, no problem.

November’s going to be a very intense month for me. Pretty much from now until the end of November.

I’ll be posting word count updates here, with possible snippets from the novel, each day. I might also keep a tally of cups of coffee consumed.

An interesting scientific study might be to see how coherent these first few posts of mine are and compare them to those in the last week of November. We shall see.

And so it goes…

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Pushing the Door Open

  1. I am vicariously thrilling to all of it (except the lemurs… is it really a good idea to touch one? what if it’s a gateway mammal? what’s next? marmosets?). XXX

    1. I only wish I could get my hands on a couple of marmosets. I’d set them free in my room and it’d be a game to find where they’d hidden each time I came home. Ooh, or I could keep them in my purse and let them scamper about in dark movie theaters. Shenanigans ensue.

  2. Oh also, there’s a blog I’ve been following (ish) called “Write on Edge” that does prompts for 300 word “flashes” on Tuesdays. It’s interesting and a few good writers seem to participate, but mostly I like the word limit and the specific prompts. Also, they’re promoting NaNoWriMo.

    Anyway, the blog is formerly called the red dress club. And you should probably check them out.

    K great, love you, bye.

  3. As a follow-up to the lemurs–it didn’t happen. Sad as it makes me, we couldn’t get to the zoo. ONE DAY IT WILL HAPPEN and I will touch a lemur. Or some other kind of adorable monkey. And all will be well with the world.

Leave a Reply

