Further Penchants and the Versatile Blogging Award

Hey folks! My lovely friend Rylee (aka Sexy Saturn) at The Lime nominated me for the Versatile Blogging Award! It’s my first blogging award and I’m super thrilled about it. We ARE versatile, Rylee. And we blog thusly.

Here’s the DL on the Versatile Blogger Award. It looks like this:

THE RULES:

  1. Thank the award-givers and link back to them in your acceptance post.
  2. Share seven (7) FACTS about yourself.
  3. Award other bloggers the versatility award.
  4. Contact your nominees so they know you nominated them.Le facts sobre moi (aka further penchants):

    1) I like to mix languages. Beyond your typical spanglish or frutch (that’s French and Dutch)–I just pull from my smatterings of Spanish, French, German and English and say what I please.

    2) I used to climb the tree in my backyard and pretend I was a trapeze artist. Sometimes I would bring my family into this and we’d have a whole circus. The clothesline and trampoline featured heavily in this.

    3)  Every single day I miss living on a boat, but I don’t think it’s something I could do again.

    4) Living near the ocean makes me inordinately happy. I don’t need to touch it or see it everyday–just knowing it’s there, around the corner, is good enough. I know if I ever needed to I could run and jump into it.

    5)  My favorite email address I ever created combined two words from two of my favorite songs. The songs were the Beatles’ “Strawberry Fields Forever” and Joni Mitchell’s “Carey.”

    6) I wish I had a higher tolerance, but I kind of like being a lightweight. It’s cheaper.

    7) I freak out every time I see a cat or a dog. I get all crazy and baby-talking and excited. This is annoying to other people, but I can’t help it. I miss the comfort of running my fingers through warm fur and cold noses waking me in the morning, demanding attention and love. I miss the odd smells and the shed hair. I miss the odd tics, like being afraid of fireworks and the garage door. I miss the intelligence, like opening the cat-door by pulling it open with claws to defy the lock. With every pet I see, I know they have their own personality and quirks and it takes everything in me to not scoop up strangers’ dogs and hold them tightly.

    My nominees are Robin Hawke and Madison Woods! Because they are fictionly and versatile. Huzzah!!

2 thoughts on “Further Penchants and the Versatile Blogging Award

  1. I loved hearing those things about you :) I’m not sure when I’ll have time to do my duties as nominee though… If you want to nominate someone else I’ll be happy to be honorary (and I really really appreciate you thinking of me!).

Leave a Reply

